January 26, 2015

about us

Our history


The Albinism Society of Kenya is non-governmental organization which is a disabled persons organization [DPO] which was formed in June 2006 from a meeting organized by Catherine Nyambura, Rick Guidotti, in collaboration with African Braille Centre and Kenya Society for the Blind. Aiming at bringing together all persons with albinism in Kenya, this meeting was unique in its sense. For the first time in the Kenyan history persons with albinism came together to share their experiences in living with albinism; stories of stigma and discrimination, of living as a minority group in cultures and societies that are ignorant of their Rights, needs and condition. It was behind this backdrop that, this meeting resolved to form an organization that would act as a platform in championing for the Rights and needs of persons with albinism in Kenya.

During the above meeting, an election was held where the first office bearers were elected as follows; Munyere Alex as Chairman, Isaac Mwaura Vice Chairman, Alex Kaluyu Secretary and Esther Kiunya as Treasurer. Other members included Catherine Karumba Organizing Secretary and Bernadict Kinyua and Nancy Njoki Kamau as committee members. The organization was formally registered in 2006 under the societies Act (Sec 10 of the laws of Kenya) in 2007. The main objective was to advocate for the social inclusion of persons with albinism, as well as enhanced provision of medical care to their sensitive skin and eye.

The society was formally launched in October 2007 at Thika School for the blind.

Vision: A society free from prejudice, discrimination and social oppression towards persons with Albinism

Mission: Empowering persons with Albinism and the community in order to realize their full potential

Slogan: Don’t just stare-ASK


National Coordinator Mwaura M Isaac

Treasurer Lydia Mugure

Organizing Secretary Alex Kaluyu

Parents Representative Ann Ombuna

Regional Representatives

Josphat Musungu Mombasa

J K Rasugu Nyanza

Kengere Kisii

Sinino Wyclif Western

Mary Ariithi Mt Kenya

Milkah Wangui Thika/Kiambu County region

Caroline Jumwa Malindi

Richard Ngove ukambani region

Nairobi Ivy Kihara

Advisory Board

A national Advisory Board Comprised of 7 (seven) eminent members of the society is in the process of being constituted give advice to the society on a voluntary basis. Members can suggest names to the secretariat.

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Youtube